My Life is Perfect Because I Want it to Be Perfect

The ubiquitous Rarasaur recently posted some pictures of herself:

Rarasaur photo

Rarasaur in all her glory

I commented that I loved her short hair, and this was her response.

P.S. Thanks! I love the short hair, too. I was trying to grow mine out again, but I’m just not there yet… not ready to see the Rara that used to look like that, so… instead… my short hair is perfect because I want it to be perfect. ;)

I love the last line. What if we changed “short hair” to “life”?

My Life is Perfect Because I Want it to Be Perfect

There is so much power, confidence, hope, and determination in this statement. Moreover, this statement is always true–if you want it to be.

yoga

image from curvyyoga.com

It reminds me of a yoga teacher who would tell us, “If you can reach the floor, perfect. If you can reach your toes, perfect. If you can reach your knees, then that is your perfection of the moment.”

We are always wanting some perfection that is just out of our reach. “I wish I was a little bit taller, thinner, richer, brighter.” Even when we get to that perfection, we are still not satisfied.

Why not want the perfection of now? Jeff Foster says, “Your life hasn’t worked out perfectly.” This can be read two ways. 1) the “not working out” of your life is perfect because it is exactly what you need to grow, learn, or experience what you came here for. In other words, the mess of our lives is our invitation to embrace our mess and thus consciousness. 2) Your life has not worked out according to some illusion of perfection. Our suffering is caused by the comparison between  present reality with what we conceived or dreamed this moment would be like. But we have control of our conceptions and our dreams. We can dream for whatever we want. Why don’t we make this present reality our dream, our perfection?  

And why isn’t the present moment perfect? Who defines what is perfect? If God defines perfection, wouldn’t God make the present moment perfect?

I’m following in Rarasaur’s footsteps (BIG shoes to fill) and making my life perfect because I want it to be.

Thank you for reading, sharing, and/or smiling.

What about you? Are you enjoying the perfection of your life right now? Why or why not? Please share.

46 comments on “My Life is Perfect Because I Want it to Be Perfect

  1. merbear74 says:

    I love Rara and I love you as well Kozo, because you both are so very perfect, just the way you are. xxx {Hugs}} Merbear

    • Kozo says:

      Aww, Merbear. How could this present moment not be perfect with love and hugs from a dinosaur and a merbear? Right back at you {{{hugs}}} Kozo

  2. grandmalin says:

    Our weather is crap (snow storms in April), I didn’t sleep well, we are understaffed at work and I’m tired of looking at 8 and 9 hour days and working Saturdays, my husband made half a pot of weak coffee this morning, and then your perfect post pops up on my IPhone and a perfect friend pops by with a perfect starbucks latte and suddenly, I realize my life is totally PERFECT!! lol Thank you Kozo for contributing to this perfect moment. {{{hugs}}} to you and Rara and Merbear and everyone else here who gets how very perfect they really are. xxoo

  3. KM Huber says:

    Oh, Kozo, as you said, you and I are traveling similar roads once again, and we have the esteemed company of rarasaur as well. I am indeed honored; thank you for including me. Life is perfect, especially when I refrain from applying my rules, such as they are. It has been a lifelong habit but slowly, it is fading into what is, which is perfection. Delightful post, Kozo, as always.
    Karen

    • Kozo says:

      Yeah, Karen. Your Suzuki quotation that you started your last post with fit perfectly with what I was trying to say in this post. It is all about changing perspectives. I agree that we have deep ingrained tendencies to look for lack, but the good news is that change is possible. I am so grateful for the daily opportunities to embrace this change. Thank you, as usual, for walking hand in hand with me down the Path. {{{hugs}} Kozo

  4. Dieu says:

    What a wonderful post. I believe that there are no shortcuts, that everything that has happened to me has brought me to exactly where I need to be. I used to think that I should be more accomplished, more ambitious, but I’ve met people who were always wanting more, always judgemental, and they were not happy people.

    • Kozo says:

      I love that, Dieu.There are no shortcuts. I like to remind myself that I am not here to become rich or accomplished, but to experience joy, compassion, and love. Here is to happiness. {{{hugs}}} Kozo

  5. Athena Brady says:

    You are so right Kozo we are always thinking if I did this or that. I will celebrate being perfect with you and everyone else. As you say, we are where we need to be. Loved the pics Raursaur.

  6. Alison says:

    All is always perfect because it is the way it is. How could it be otherwise? That’s my definition of perfection anyway. Each of us is perfect exactly the way we are because, even though we change, seemingly over time, we have no choice but to be who we are. Even all those people (I suspect most of us to a greater or lesser degree, at one time or another) who try to be someone else are still being perfectly themselves, and never succeeding, of course, at being someone else. How funny, thinking we could be someone else, or be like someone else. Each can only be perfectly him/her self, whatever that looks like in the moment. And life too. How could the present be different from what it is? It is. There’s no denying that it is. Eckhart rightly describes resisting what is as insanity. We can’t change what already is, so it must be perfect. Perfectly itself. I hope this makes sense. It does to me anyway.
    (((hugs)))
    Alison
    xoxox

    • Kozo says:

      It makes perfect sense, Alison. 🙂 Yes, We can’t change what already is. The moment is perfect just the way it is.
      i also like the idea of being perfect as ourselves. Isn’t it incredible that no one can be a perfect us except ourselves? Life is so intelligent. {{{hugs}}} Kozo

  7. Everyone who has ever met me knows I am not perfect but I know that I am perfect in this moment. Thank you for this kind article and the wise thought Kozo. I am grateful for you gift to the world. 🙂

    • Kozo says:

      It is so amazing that you, Karen from Kmhuber.wordpress.com and I all posted on perfection in the span of a few days. The now is an incredible time to be here. I can’t ask for more. Thank you for sharing this moment with me, Jon. {{{hugs}}} Kozo

      • That is something. Must be a theme the world needs to hear about!! I am never amazed anymore when things like this happen, because they are supposed to be this way!! You are the man Kozo!

  8. Sunshine says:

    why, of course, i am ☼sunPERFECT! blaze on all you perfect WARRIORS…it’s a DIVINE order! thank you so much, KOZO & RARA ♥

  9. Like Joyce Meyers says, imperfectly perfect. Yes, its what we make of it all. Awesome Blog, my friend!!!

    • Kozo says:

      It is what we make of it. Isn’t that amazing that we can make perfection? It is so simple. Thank you, my BBF, for helping make this a perfect moment. {{{hugs}}} Kozo

  10. The perfect way to look at it all Kozo,

    It reminds me of a quote I love from Wayne Dyer: “If you change the way you look at things, the things you look at change.”

    Seeing our life as perfect the way it is at this very moment, makes it perfect indeed 🙂

    Awesome post Kozo
    Enjoy your week-end, hugs to you and your family 🙂

    • Kozo says:

      Yes, Anyes, we do change reality with a look. Quantum physics has proven this in a laboratory. The power we hold is immense, but we seem to use it against ourselves. I’m reminding myself to use the power to create perfection. Having a perfect weekend. Hope you are too. {{{hugs}}} Kozo

  11. Geo Sans says:

    in education

    there’s a push

    away from perfection

    ~

    the impossible

    ~

    we strive

    for excellence

    the best we can do

    ~

    and that

    is enough

    • Kozo says:

      My wife is a psychologist, and she said something similar. I like keeping the word and idea of perfection, but redefining it as something not only possible, but present here and now. But I understand how a push towards excellence in education can be a relief for the students. {{{hugs}}} Kozo

  12. diannegray says:

    Life is perfection, Kozo. When you think of how you got here (past a billion sperm) and grew inside your mother to become a perfect human being with a conscience and spirit and every moment of your life (meeting your wife, having your children) has brought to this instant in your life (woah – I’m exhausted just thinking about it!) it IS perfection!

    We are all perfect and we are all miracles.

    Perfect post, my dear friend {{{hugs}}}

    • Kozo says:

      Dianne,
      Thank you so much for reminding me how perfect my life is. I think about all the factors that had to come together to be able to communicate with you, my dear friend, and I am so grateful.
      How wonderful to take this breath in at this very moment in the luxury of my home with my children at the park. Perfection never felt so good. {{{hugs}}} Kozo

  13. rarasaur says:

    Look, I’m famous! 🙂 I love that you find inspiration in so many little details of life, Kozo, and that you blossom that inspiration into something we can all see and enjoy. Beautiful post with great advice! ♥

    • Kozo says:

      Of course the post is beautiful, Rara, just look at the photo.:) Thank you so much for your wisdom and generosity. It amazes me how much fun, laughter, learning, and love happens in the comment sections of blogs. I’m so happy I could share the wisdom of your comment with the readers of this blog. {{{Hugs}}} Kozo

  14. utesmile says:

    This is a great post from you again, I am happy with my life, so for me is perfect. Perfection is defined differently for everyone. What is perfect for me is not for you. We are all perfect in a different way. As for you, you are writing certainly perfect posts, for us to make us think. Love that, thank you!

    • Kozo says:

      Yes, Ute. Great point. We often cause our own suffering by comparing our lives with others that we perceive as perfect. In America, we call this “keeping up with the Joneses.” If we realize that perfection is different for everyone, we will have a much easier time finding our own perfection and our own bliss. Thank you for your wisdom. {{{Hugs}}} Kozo

  15. Rohan 7 Things says:

    Brilliant post Kozo, well done! You distilled so much into such a simple and powerful phrase 🙂 You are of course absolutely right. We get to choose our own definition of perfection, as the very concept is completely perception based. So why not choose our present circumstances as our definition of perfection 🙂

    Thanks for the very inspiring post!

    Hugs, keep well 🙂

    Rohan.

    • Kozo says:

      Thanks, Rohan. I was curious how Stoicism viewed perfection, but your comment set me straight. perfection is “completely perception based.” We can only worry about what we have control over. Let’s make now perfect. {{{Hugs}}} Kozo

  16. 1EarthUnited says:

    Perfection is meaningless in our current physical existence. The idea or concept of perfection implies a static state of completeness where the subject/ object or concept observed can not by definition be improved upon. It denotes the pinnacle or end state. And since we are living BEINGS, what a blessing not to be born perfect, otherwise what else is there to do, why even exist? We exist to experience everything just the way they are; knowing that “we” are in essence one with this “perfection” which has no beginning or end, the alpha and the omega.
    Of course we keep striving to attain this illusive state, even though perfection is just an idea. As an imperfect human being, we should nevertheless keep striving forward, learning, growing, maturing, evolving… what choice do we have? This existence as a function of the whole – is perfect! ♥
    Our only job is to make it so, number 1. (lol, geek joke) Hugz to all!

    • Kozo says:

      Don’t tell me you’re a Trekkie, Maddy. You crack me up. Yes, I agree with everything you say about “being” and existence as a function of the whole. I guess I’m trying to redefine perfection as a fluid state that changes as we grow, learn, mature, and evolve. If you drop the terms out of the post, my message would be love/live the now. Thanks always for your wisdom and humor. {{{hugs]}} Kozo

  17. sbcallahan says:

    i have always believed that we are exactly where we are supposed to be at any given moment. that is why my life is perfect, how could it not be?

  18. 1EarthUnited says:

    Yeah I’m a super geek, I’ve attended Star Trek & Comic-Con conventions just for fun. Always had a great time meeting interesting & freaky people at these events, they even captured video footage of me in my power girl costume, just hilarious.
    {{{Mega hugs}}} for Kozo and his perfect posts. 😀 ☼

  19. […] Just the other day, Kozo used the picture of me and a snippet of one of my comments and created a brilliant post (“My life is perfect because I want it to be perfect“). […]

  20. kerilady says:

    Reblogged this on My thought exactly…! and commented:
    I wish I wrote this post by Kozo, because it describes perfectly the way I think. This post is perfect and it has the power to make everything perfect, which is why I’m reblogging it (my first reblog ever).

  21. So much positivity here…. I’m sad I’m a little late to the game. Actually, maybe not late at all! Maybe I’m arriving just at the perfect time for me. GREAT GREAT post! Gracias.

  22. […] My Life is Perfect Because I Want it to Be Perfect (everydaygurus.com) […]

  23. oghidipaul says:

    I wish I wrote this post by Kozo, because it describes perfectly the way I think and how i see life generally.
    its my life, so i’ll do what makes me happy. what anyone has to say doesn’t matter

    • Kozo Hattori says:

      Thanks, cscmajor. Yes, we need to pursue what our live tells us to pursue rather than what others deem appropriate or perfect. Sometimes others look at my life and frown, but they don’t know the real story. They don’t know how grateful I am of all my mistakes and stumbles. Hope your life is perfect in this moment. {{{hugs]}} Kozo

      • oghidipaul says:

        everyone has his own story to tell. Everyone is going through one challenge or the other, only that some people just choose not to tell. But over the years, i’ve learnt that the pathway o happiness begins with me sharing myself with others(people who need me). thereby contributing my own quota to someone elses happiness.

      • oghidipaul says:

        no ones life is close to perfection……i’m just learning as i’m getting along….All i can say is ” SO FAR SO GOOD”

Leave a Reply

