A Letter for Peace to my Child

This letter had me in tears. The future looks bright with mothers and children like this on the horizon.

oliviaobryon

Dear {Insert top secret, hotly-debated name choice},

You don’t exist yet, at least not here. I don’t know when you’ll be a part of our lives, but I know deep down you will be. My mom, your grandmother, has this story of how she almost drowned before I was born. As she looked up through the water, she knew she had to stay, she saw two children, a girl and a boy. I’ve seen you in much the same way.

You appear in my dreams in circumstances I cannot attribute to just my overactive imagination. You love your dad and share rituals with him I do not understand, especially when it is time for a nap. I’ve felt you in my body, healthy and ready to be born. Others have seen you too. Your dad, your great aunt’s mom, my mom’s friend. They all know you’ll be here soon even…

View original post 492 more words

2 comments on “A Letter for Peace to my Child

  1. oliviaobryon says:

    Thanks for the shout-out Kozo– had me in tears as I wrote. Gratitude to you for the beautiful inspiration, without Bloggers for Peace, I never would have written these words or organized these thoughts! 🙂

  2. […] participating in home yoga with me. I’m thrilled! If you’re new to my blog thanks to Kozo’s kind repost, welcome. I’m a little obsessed with yoga and what it can do for peace, both mental and […]

Leave a Reply

