Everyday Thanksgiving May

“Gratitude unlocks the fullness of life. It turns what we have into enough, and more”–Melody Beattle

This is my monthly gratitude post. Everyday we have the opportunity to choose abundance or lack, pleasure or pain, gratitude or resentment. I chose a joyful rich life full of gratitude. Feel free to join me.

May 2013

Thank you for my wife feeling better after taking vitamin D; strider bikes;  long walks in our neighborhood; a call from my dear friend, Nancy; my cousin’s critical thinking.

Jett and Friends

laughter and mohawks

Thank you for Sunday picnic; my 5 year old son scoring 3 goals sporting a Mohawk; a whole day with my family; a purpose driven life; dreams that reconcile a past wrong.

Thank you for my wife’s love even when she is exhausted; reconnecting with friends who I thought had abandoned me; ripe, juicy tomatoes; Vega-One supplements; all the inspiration I am blessed with everyday.

Thank you for clean fresh water; time spent outdoors; my sons’ healthy appetites; the simplicity of Thich Nhat Hanh’s writing; realizing that I am like my step-father.

Thank you for parallel realities; releasing those around me who are on a different vibration; walking my sons to school with my wife; realizing how little I need from the outside world; the bonds that grow stronger with my blogging best friends.

Thank you for meditation premonitions; Peace in Marriage; the Tibetan 5 Rites Yoga;  changing my reactions to a lagging reality; my son’s demands to “sweep wit me right NOW!”

Thank you for raspberry fingertips; the dinner discussion about meditation I had with my sons; twisted logic of childhood innocence: “Are monks bald like my pee-pee, Daddy?”; the new website;  slowing down to enjoy my sons.

Thank you for Sunshine’s Gratitude post; Costco rotisserie chicken; Scooby Doo and how my sons try to sing the theme song; the vision to see we still have injustices to overcome; MLK’s I have a dream speech-“their destiny is tied up with our destiny.”

Thank you for the amazing under 12 soccer game we watched today; dreams of travel to Japan; how my 3 year old mimics his older brother’s kung fu moves; clarity of purpose in my life; my wife, the mother of our children. Happy Mother’s Day, Honey.

rhee bevere photo

The Mother I Love

Thank you for Coldplay; Rarasaur and all the magic she gives for free; Mother Gaia and all she provides; Seva and Dana; faith in the Universe–“Life is so intelligent.”

Thank you for cutting and pasting between different programs. Word>Firefox; release of need; the talk about raising boys I listened to today; thoughtful emails; another bout of creative insomnia.

Thank you for the abundance of laughter from my sons; my younger son’s ploys to avoid bedtime; feedly.com; the phone call from Chuy that reaffirmed my purpose; all the Light and Spirit I am showered with everyday.

Thank you for the reminder to stop thinking about money everyday; 30 day money back guarantees; field trips for my kindergartener; the wonderful birthday wishes; the massager and thoughtful gifts from my wife.

Thank you for the tenderness of my younger son; my older son’s homemade Kung Fu staff; my parents and brother coming out to see my son’s soccer game; my wife’s text message–I love u “3,4,5”; learning to persevere with patience.

Thank you for the sunny disposition that shines through the daily clouds of darkness: the vision of how to serve others; all my loved ones who have passed away supporting me in ways I cannot imagine; the spirit I had as a child resurfacing 40 years later; all the messages to just be, rather than do busyness.

Thank you for shrimp curry; bitter melon; the amazing guided meditation I did last night; 8 hours of deep sleep; Alison guiding me towards Adyashanti.

Thank you for John Gray; Zach Sobiech; the Origin of Love from Hedwig and the Angry Inch; the power of the internet to spread love and goodwill; woe in life to bring forth growth.

Thank you for holidays; courage to be truthful; ice cream socials; water pressure; youtube.

Thank you for the amazing capabilities of Mac; races between 3 year olds; ice to soothe my sore knee; bold enthusiasm; the confidence to tell my story.

Thank you for my son’s wonderful 6th birthday; the thoughtful parents who bought my 3 year old a gift as well.; a day full of smiles, laughter, and good energy; playing Operation with my sons–with the new fart sounds; feeling good about myself again.

Thank you for Freedom; the kind thoughts on Memorial Day; all who have sacrificed for our freedom; all men and women in the armed forces who put their lives on the line for our safety; selfless service.

Thank you for fresh fruit for dessert instead of sugar; naps in the car; a whole day with the boys; self-actualization and social contribution; Amit Goswami and Quantum Physics.

Thank you for Pema Chodron; Persian food; being at peace with wealth; 3 am epiphanies; reliable internet and phone services.

Thank you for faking it, until you make it via Professions for Peace; mattress pads for potty training toddlers; extra hours of sunlight; countdown to summer vacation; 7 months of no cable television.

41 comments on “Everyday Thanksgiving May

  1. twindaddy says:

    Kozo, your positivity is inspiring.

  2. Sunshine says:

    can you believe it? i open WordPress Reader and i get you!! awesome! this is probably the first time i am soooooo early to visit. ha ha. i love seeing little guys sporting mohawks…just want to run over to them and pinch their little cute faces! Persian food sounds interesting. spicy? i just love this monthly gratitude posts…thank you sweet Kozo for the inspiration and encouragement you give to make constant reflections (and adjustments) in our lives. ☼sunHUGS!!
    p.s. *smiling* over your “learning to persevere with patience…” ☺

    • Kozo Hattori says:

      Obviously, I’m reflecting the Light I receive at your blog, Sunshine. I linked to your blog so you don’t sue me for plagiarism. haha.
      We just tried this Persian restaurant by our house. Amazing. The dill potato soup was a hit with my kids and the fresh fried pita bread with humus melted in our mouths.
      Gotta go pinch my sons’ cheeks. Love Kozo

      • Sunshine says:

        potatoes are usually so uninteresting but hmm, with dill it maybe different. it’s great to try foods from other places…☺
        ☼sunPINCHES!!! ha ha.

  3. Kelly Kuhn says:

    Ahhhh… Seems everyone’s feeling grateful today. Nice!

  4. grandmalin says:

    Beautiful. I’m so thankful for your thankfulness and the reminder to be grateful for everything – every little thing, every big thing, every good thing, every not so good thing – and a life full of so many different reasons to be happy. I’m thankful there is Kozo in my life. ♥♥♥

    • Kozo Hattori says:

      {{{Hugs}}} to you, Grandmalin. I love your wisdom to recognize that we need to be grateful for the “not so good things” as well. Have a great weekend. I can’t wait to read you post for peace–just saw it pop up in my comments. Love, Kozo

  5. prayingforoneday says:

    Kozo..

    Please accept this “Best Moments Award”
    http://prayingforoneday.wordpress.com/2013/06/01/best-moment-award-4/
    Shaun

    • Kozo Hattori says:

      Thanks so much, Shaun. I don’t do awards anymore, but I really appreciate the gesture. {{{hugs]}} Kozo

      • prayingforoneday says:

        Yeah, I think I knew that but gave it anyway. As you are super cool 🙂
        Loving the challenge you done on Peace in a relationship, good fun!!
        And I also stopped doing awards..Just this one, I have 12, think I am first ever to get 12 ever in the history of the universe 🙂

        Hope you having a good weekend..

  6. Bastet says:

    And I thank you for this lovely post, a reminder to be grateful for all the wonderful moments of life…hmmm…loved to see your little ones.

  7. Your lovely spirit flows through this yummy post out into the world ☼ thank you! tomas ♥

    • Kozo Hattori says:

      I’m really starting to believe the theory of morphogenetic fields and non-local vibrations, Tomas. Yes, the energy we emit effects everyone. {{{hugs}}} to you and your positive vibrations. Love, Kozo

      • You are right – as long as we understand something intellectually, we have a good chance of grokking it on a deeper level – and when we start to experience it happening, then we really know it 😉 Peace and Love to you and your beautiful family, Dear Kozo! tomas ♥

  8. Flo me la says:

    The quote in the beginning reminds me of this song: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-DR6cXAa-Ek

    Though it sounds like you’ve got plenty of something, not nothing! 🙂

    • Kozo Hattori says:

      Love Armstrong and Fitzgerald. Great song, great message. Thanks for sharing. I love Billie Holiday’s God Bless the Child who has his own. {{{hugs}}} Kozo

  9. Alison says:

    I so much love your gratitude posts. I’m grateful for you!
    ((((hugs))))
    Alison xoxox

  10. diannegray says:

    I love your monthly gratitude posts, Kozo. It reminds us all of the things we should be grateful for (instead of the things that irk us).

    Vitamin D is SO important and I’m really glad your wife is now taking it. We’ve got so much sun here that I don’t need it anymore, but it is something I seemed to have become short of while I was living in a colder climate. And I love her text message to you 😉 {{{hugs}}}

    • Kozo Hattori says:

      Had a bit of an “irkfull” day yesterday, so I needed to remind myself, Dianne. Practice, practice, practice.
      Funny thing about that text message. My 3 year old son had a performance at church and they asked him to say his name and age. He said “I’m Fox, I’m 3,4,5.” So when I texted my wife, “Love you 2.” She texted back “Love you 3,4,5.” 🙂
      {{{Hugs}}} Kozo

  11. Sandy says:

    I love the way you express with such honesty and openness. So grateful to have found you and your blog. Keep inspiring, because it’s so very easy to see how big a difference it’s making.
    Much Love, Sandy

    • Kozo Hattori says:

      I am so glad it is making a difference to you, Sandy. Thank you so much for not only reading, but for encouraging me to continue being honest and open. {{{Hugs and Love}}} Kozo

  12. Grateful for your words and your wisdom Kozo, and amazed at your list and how touching it is to see everydaygratitude and all the bounties it bring in everydaylife.Hugs to you and to your beautiful family
    New website? Did I miss so much?

    • Kozo Hattori says:

      {{{Hugs}}} to you, my dear friend. The new website is in the works. Stay tuned. I believe that it will be a great benefit to you, especially. {{{Hugs again}}} Kozo

      • I am realizing lately that each and every one person in my life, is there to teach me a lesson or to help me better understand it. I can feel deep in my heart YOU Kozo are one of my teacher and I thank you for that Hugs 🙂

  13. 1EarthUnited says:

    Kozo, I always look forward to your monthly Thanksgiving post, it always put a smile on my heart. Wow, the Tibetan Rites! How many whirls did you work up to, I always get dizzy at 30 spins lol. 😀
    Have a blessed week ahead. {{{hugs}}}

    • Kozo Hattori says:

      A smile on Maddy’s heart. Life doesn’t get much more beautiful than that. Yep, Tibetan Rites. I stop at 21 revolutions. I’m in awe of whirling dervishes. One day we will spin together. {{{hugs}}} Kozo

  14. You…Beautiful you… bringing so much to many of us here. I am so happy to know you, my friend.

    • Kozo Hattori says:

      I never thought about these posts as bringing anything to anyone. I’m so glad that you found beauty there, 1G4AW. I’m happy to know you as well. {{{hugs]}} Kozo

  15. Rohan 7 Things says:

    Great post Kozo! You prove once again that there is just so much to be grateful for if we take a moment to think 🙂

    I’m definitely grateful for the nice weather here this week, and being surrounded by good, caring people!

    Here’s to a June full of gratitude as well, keep well Kozo, hugs 🙂

    Rohan.

  16. Lady Lovely says:

    Once again, your words have inspired. This post drew me in and touched my heart. Thank you as always, for being such a wonderful gift to us all.

  17. Silverback says:

    Just to say, ‘thankyou for being you.’ You always manage to inspire and bring light into a sometimes ‘dark’ world. I love your thoughts and those ‘extra special’ pictures that bring us a small glimpse of the life of the wonderful Kozo Hattori. May life bring you happiness and love always. {{{Hugs}}}, Chris

  18. […] Everyday Thanksgiving May (everydaygurus.com) […]

Leave a Reply

