Promote Peace

Woot Woot. We have 71 Bloggers for Peace after the first week of January. That is close to 1000 peace posts that will circulate world-wide this year. The number grows everyday, but I would like to make a push to get everyone on board as soon as possible.

1. Tweet for Peace

Above are two tweets that I have sent recently. If you have a twitter account, please hit “retweet” in the lower right corner of the tweet above and it will immediately retweet this message.

Notice that the second message is sent to Freshly Pressed. It includes a link to Grandmalin’s post on peace (If you have not read Grandmalin’s post, stop reading, click on the link, and put a pillow on your desk to protect your jaw when it drops to the floor.).

If you did not know, Freshly Pressed encourages bloggers to tweet links of posts that they think deserve to be read. If you read a B4Peace post that moves you, please tweet the link to @freshly_pressed. Being Freshly Pressed on WordPress reaches a global audience that could really help spread the word about B4Peace. Plus, you guys rock and deserve to be recognized.

2. Like Peace

David Choe Whale Graffiti

David Choe Whale Graffiti

I don’t know much about Facebook, except that Graffiti artist David Choe became a millionaire by foregoing payment for the murals he painted years ago in the FB offices for stock options.

But Elizabeth from Mirth and Motivation pointed out that if we really want to get global traction with this movement we need to use social media that includes non-bloggers. So I set up a Facebook page for Bloggers for Peace. I’m not sure what that means, but I think if you “like” the page we can help spread the word. So click “like” in the right menu bar if you haven’t already–unless of course you don’t like us or you are a spy for “the opposition.”

Come visit the page and feel free to put your posts for peace on the wall. If anyone knows how to Facebook, let me know what I should do with this page.

3. Tell a Friend

When I started Bloggers for Peace, I knew certain bloggers that were already blogging for peace. I felt that if I could just let them know about B4Peace, they would join. I tapped some of these bloggers shoulders by linking to their posts, so they got a pingback alert. With others, I wasn’t so subtle. If there is someone who lives, breathes, and writes for peace, ping them, poke them, or pick them up and carry them to Bloggers for Peace.

Some of your real life friends, like Kylie’s friend Heather, walk the walk of peace. Others like Rev Dani’s friend, Jacklyn Laflamme, create stunning pieces of art dedicated to peace. Even if these individuals are not bloggers, ask them to join the cause. Ask them if you can insert a photo of their artwork on your peace post or if they will be a guest blogger about what they do for peace.

While I was composing this post, Cheri Roberts from Cheri Speaks posted this downloadable Bloggers for Peace flyer. It is PDF for electronic sending and printing. Isn’t synchronicity great? Feel free to print, photocopy, email, and post at the town square.

Love is in the Air

Photo1(1)Lastly, I just want to say Thank You, God Bless, and {{{Hugs}}} to everyone who has joined, supported, or read about Bloggers for Peace. You have already made a difference in my life, and I know you will make a difference in the world.

If you have any suggestions or ideas, please share them in the comments.

To all my blog friends and new followers who I have not been able to visit lately, I apologize. B4Peace has kept me pretty busy lately. (It took me a couple of days to make an html table for the B4Peace page that contains all the links to bloggers involved. Which reminds me, if your blog’s name is not on the list, let me know.) I promise that I will be pay you a visit soon. Thank you for your patience and understanding.

44 comments on “Promote Peace

  1. seeker says:

    Hi Kozo, thanks for liking my notes to file on peace. One thing tho’ I did not join the bloggers post for peace. I hope you don’t mind. However, I will continue to post my thoughts on peace. Sorry, I’m not a groupie kind of person.

  2. C. R. says:

    Hey there, I am happy to help work on the FaceBook page if you’d like 🙂

    • Kozo says:

      Thanks, Cheri. I will make you an administrator on the page. I really don’t know how these “event pages” work. Do you make friends like a personal facebook page? What do we do on this page?

      • C. R. says:

        we need a URL and have it directed to our FaceBook. I just looked to see what was available that is closest to the name “Bloggers for Peace”. Many are taken (owned and parked – unused, and cost over 1K) HOWEVER we can get
        bloggers4peace.org OR b4peace.org
        Snap one up before someone else does. Just $4.99 at godaddy.com and “I” would get both if I were you.

  3. C. R. says:

    i Tweeted the link for Gramalin’s post to Freshly Pressed. Also, thank you for spreading the flyer!

  4. Cathy G says:

    Hi Kozo! Thanks for your dedication and inspiration- such great ideas! I’ll look forward to posting my blogs to the Facebook page!

  5. Kylie says:

    Hi Kozo. I will follow up with all your suggestions. Thank you for highlighting my post about Heather. I wish she were alive. She would be an incredible blogger. But her art and music and incredible self now has a place to live on (other than our hearts) at a blog set up by a friend that people can find through my post.

    • Kozo says:

      Will be sure to check out Heather’s blog. We should link her blog to some peace posts. I’m sure she will appreciate the movement wherever she is.

  6. sarahneeve says:

    Done and done, both retweeted. Looking forward to more posts. 🙂

  7. […] Promote Peace (everydaygurus.com) […]

  8. […] Promote Peace (everydaygurus.com) […]

  9. Ah…I don’t tweet Kozo, didn’t know that about freshly pressed encouraging tweets of recommended posts..

    Don’t get worn out yourself working for peace x

  10. Reblogged this on bodhisattvaintraining and commented:
    promotion for peace 🙂
    go Kozo!

  11. diannegray says:

    I’ve ‘liked’ the FB page even though I wanted to ‘love’ it!

    Well done, Kozo – you’re my hero! 😀

  12. Sunshine says:

    Sending out not only peace rays but good energy rays to you and the world!!

    Awesome movement for sure…thank you, Kozo & all contributors. ❤

  13. Sunshine says:

    Question: how do you do this after you..”.read a B4Peace post that moves you, please tweet the link to @freshly_pressed”

    Tweet the link to fp?
    Slightly confused Sun.

    • Kozo says:

      Sunshine,
      You just cut and paste the URL from the post you like and put @freshly_pressed in front. Just like the example above. This sends a tweet to Freshly Pressed. Cool, huh?

  14. sofiasiberia says:

    Dear Kozo,

    I’ve nominated you for a Liebster Award 🙂
    I don’t know if you’ve already got one before, but here you go, one from me 😉

    http://sofiasiberia.com/2013/01/08/my-2013-first-awards/

  15. sofiasiberia says:

    And one more 🙂 Check them out! 🙂 I also want to give you a Super Sweet Blog Award 🙂

  16. Adam S says:

    Kozo, I joined up on Facebook. \m/
    Let the lovefest begin.

    • Kozo says:

      Yay, Adam. By the way, I love your panel idea. It reminds me of “Wait, Wait, Don’t Tell Me” on NPR. Unfortunately, I don’t think I will be able to be a panel member because Bloggers for Peace has monopolized my blog time. Look forward to seeing the panel in action.

  17. oliviaobryon says:

    Checked out the B4Peace feed the other day– pretty darn cool! I know you didn’t start this for recognition, but you deserve some– thank you for inspiring peace!

  18. I’ll be doing my part on spreading the word! PEACE! Thanks for this Kozo!

  19. eof737 says:

    Hi Kozo,
    To explain what I had suggested earlier, if we are to make this a viable, open-to-all movement, the Facebook page is a great common ground location to start. It opens the group to the public and allows us all to post to the page and share with our own Facebook connections. I’m happy to answer questions and help with managing the page… I thought we had this discussion earlier… but maybe I was talking to myself. 😉 Anyway, another important component is to link the badge to the Facebook page and that would encourage more to participate. You can do it or I can. 🙂
    Eliz

    • Kozo says:

      Thanks, Eliz. I got the general gist of the FB page, but I wasn’t really sure how an event page on FB differed/worked compared to a personal page. I’m figuring it out and Cheri Roberts is helping out.
      I have some other questions for you, but I think I will put them in an email. Thanks for the guidance and support.

  20. 1EarthUnited says:

    Hi Kozo, I’ve set up the new blog @ 1earthunite.wordpress.com
    I’d like to contribute my post for peace: http://1earthunite.wordpress.com/2013/01/13/war-and-peace-what-have-we-learned/

    Keep up the great work, love your posts 4 peace!

  21. 1EarthUnited says:

    Always great to see your prayers for peace, when it’s from your heart, the message will be well received by all. 😉

  22. […] Promote Peace (everydaygurus.com) […]

  23. […] Promote Peace (everydaygurus.com) […]

Leave a Reply

