Everyday Thanksgiving–November

“No matter who you are, no matter where you are, no matter what your current circumstances, the magic of gratitude will change your entire life.”–Rhonda Byrne

This is a daily/monthly ritual that I do on my blog. I post the things I am grateful for. Note that some of the things I am grateful for have not happened yet, but I am creating the reality of them happening through gratitude. You do not have to read my list, but I hope you incorporate a gratitude practice in your life or on your blog. This practice has literally changed my life.

gratitudepic-rock

Thank you for all the new followers, the safe and joyful Halloween with my kids, all those who generously mentor me, the wonderful public school my son attends, our dear friends who nurture and watch over our kids.

Thank you for finishing the first chapter of my novel for NaNoWriMo; all the new visitors from around the world–where is Azerbaijan?; the late afternoon nap both my boys took that allowed me to fix dinner peacefully; all the beautiful memories I have to hold my hands during times of doubt; the wonderful email from my wife thanking me for everything that I do–I guess gratitude is contagious:

Dear K,
Just want to let you know how much I appreciate you stepping up to the plate this morning when I felt distressed. I felt deflated and you got on the phone and took care of business and made me feel protected and taken care.
Thank you for doing that- for loving me, for loving our family and for being you.  Thank you for guiding me through what needed to be done with the car situation. Thank you for taking Vani in to be checked. Thank you for taking care of Fox every Tues and Thursday. Thank you for getting the boys ready in the morning and sending them to school and picking them up. Thank you for helping Jett with his homework. Thank you for taking Jett to kung fu. Thank you for planning the meals and making dinner. Thank you for shopping. Thank you for taking care of the house. Thank you for playing with our boys and keeping them happy and healthy. Thank you for being you.
I am grateful for having you in my life. I am grateful that you are my husband. I am grateful that you are the father of my boys. I am grateful that you are my family.
I love you. You are my knight in shining armor.
Love,
B

Thank you for the health and well-being of Boddhisattvaintraining and her family; all the time my wife is giving me to blog and write my NaNoWriMo novel; all the wonderful poetry I’m reading on WordPress;  the privilege to have traveled around the world; the health of my children.

Thank you for kung fu films like Hero; fall in NorCal–my favorite season; the way my son smiles when he sees me first thing in the morning; all the wisdom being sent my way; patience that makes anything possible.

Thank you for black lingerie– hey, I gotta be honest; the 1.5 hour nap I got to take today; the patience to outlast my 5 year old son; Amma‘s teachings of service;  the wonderful meeting I will have tomorrow.

Thank you for my wife working a 22 hour shift today;  the food poisoning I got that made me sleep all day; the happiness that is always available to anyone; cut and paste on computers;  the new DP Challenge that was cathartic for me.

2012-11-26 10.29.18

Thank you for the colorful leaves that are painting our neighborhood; our condo not having a yard that needs raking; how my 2 year old son is a better kisser than talker–wish I could be the same; pepto-bismal; the crisp cool fall breeze mixed with warm sunshine on my bare arms when I walk my kids to school.

Thank you for the positive Asian male role models my sons have to look up to even if some of them dance around like they are riding a horse; Pixar films that both my sons and I can enjoy;  the years I spent at the Hollister Ranch; stopping the bad mood that was running through our house like a virus this morning; all the generosity that exists in our slice of the world.

Thank you for my two year old’s songs–“Jinko bells, Jinko bells. Gangnum Style.”; John Wooden whose words still ring true for me.; my step-father who raised my brothers and I like we were his own children; all the likes and empathy for my Spare the Child post; my wife’s love and support.

Thank you for Costco;  it being mid November and our heater just turned on;  all the wonderful public parks in NorCal; the dharma; all the creative ideas I get when I walk the kids to school.

Thank you for Steven Spielberg films;  the time my wife and I get to spend together while our sons are in Sunday school; all my relatives who worked so hard to make it possible for me to live the life I live; pounded sweet rice mochi; the start of a new week with new possibilities.

Thank you for all the veterans who fought to give us freedom; the peace we are enjoying in this part of the world; for the thrilling game of Dora Candyland that my family enjoyed together;  Roku–no more cable bills; all the wonderful thoughts I have been having.

Thank you for the visits from friends and family today; Gangnam Style; our wonderful nanny, Angela; laundry machines; Facetime on the iPhone.

iPhone 10-8-12 394Thank you for the beautiful cloud formation this evening; the non-stop joy exuding from my 2 year old son;  the new followers; my 5 year old son’s insistence of fairness; Trader Joe’s tofu/edamame nuggets.

Thank you for gps; the sound advice I get from family and friends; learning that peace of mind requires moment by moment diligence and awareness; all the obstacles that force me to be more creative and flexible;  hugs after a fight.

Thank you for sunshine on a rainy day; making it half way through NaNoWriMo;  the support and guidance from my dear friend Ari Novick; all the doors available to be opened now that I have let go of the comfort of routine; all the time I get to spend with my wonderful wife and beautiful sons.

Thank you for my older son’s giggle; fast internet and streaming movies;  the silliness that makes stress disappear; a clean house; reuniting with old friends who are on the Path.

Thank you for the inspiration award Rarasaur gave this blog; the wide range of refreshments at church; puddles and plastic boots; moist wipes when changing my son’s diaper; Daily Press prompts that have inspired posts I would have never thought about writing without a prompt.

1. Thank you for the eyes I use to see my beautiful family. 2. Thank you for forgiveness that makes life so much easier. 3. Thank you for Kaiser and $5 co-pays. 4. Thank you for late night silence and creativity. 5. Thank you for my imperfect life that pushes me to be better.

Today I’m borrowing Mirth and Motivations idea of a Thanksgiving gratitude recipe.

2 cups of my children’s smiles that look like me when I didn’t have a care in the world
3 heaping servings of my wife’s silliness
1 package of extended family served at room temperature
50 clicks on my favorite bloggers posts to put a perma-smile on my face
1 beautiful world that is full of forgiveness, gratitude, empathy, and respect

Mix all ingredients together and serve liberally in the comfort of a loved one’s home.
Happy Thanksgiving everyone.

Thank you for a drama-free Thanksgiving; the date night I had with my wife; my nephews/babysitters; the 12 hours of sleep my sons got last night; cheese-its.

IMG_1109Thank you for my two sons–plain and simple;  holidays and the food involved;  Rise of the Guardians and the preservation of imagination in our culture; digital photography; paper and handwritten letters in this digital world.

Thank you for cell phones to keep in touch with loved ones; Ikea and sustainable furniture;  Big Bang Theory on the internet–Nerds Rule; The Who’s Quadrophenia, especially “Love Reign O’er Me”; big round warm cheeks of my son.

Thank you for Roku:  the nomination for Beautiful Blogger by Sarah; Google for helping me learn about GIFs; Amazon Prime and free shipping, so I can blog while Christmas shopping: Dan Millman’s Way of the Peaceful Warrior.

Thank you for reading, sharing and/or smiling.

Do you have a gratitude practice? What is it? Please share.

26 comments on “Everyday Thanksgiving–November

  1. What a wonderful list of gratitude 🙂
    Thank you for keeping daughter and me in your thoughts/prayers – have a great day x annie

  2. So much better to live a life of gratitude than one of regret…:-)

  3. Dieu says:

    Your sons are so cute! And what a wonderful list.

  4. Sarah says:

    What a lovely idea, Kozo! Thank you for including me! I feel so honoured. I am thankful for you as well. 🙂

  5. […] story came to mind for a few reasons. For Everyday  Gurus’ and his inspirational post on Gratefulness, for one. Another is today I was reminded of a story […]

  6. I remember doing a gratitude list every single night a few years back. I am ashamed to say it has gone by the way side and reading your words today is giving me the nudge I need. So I am going to re-start this heart opening habit once again. Thank you Kozo.

    Very cute boys you have 🙂

  7. oliviaobryon says:

    So many thank yous, what an overwhelmingly wonderful expression of abundance and looking for the best in everything! 😀

    • Kozo says:

      Thanks, Olivia. I know you know the power of gratitude, especially on Thursdays. Thanks for commenting on this rainy Saturday. Hope you are taking a well needed break from NaNo and school.:)

  8. […] Everyday Thanksgiving – November (everydaygurus.com) […]

  9. diannegray says:

    Thank you for being you, Kozo 😉

  10. NIKOtheOrb says:

    I love how you did a thanksgiving post on the first of December; it’s like a subtle reminder that thanksgiving/grace/gratitude isn’t just one day to be celebrated, but a natural characteristic of what it means to be a human (an everyday guru) and can be an everyday happening. Even in the hard times, it can make a difference to sit down and really think about what we can be grateful for.

  11. Anonymous says:

    Thank you for your blog and your new novel (in advance).

    Alan

  12. Great piece! I enjoy getting to know you better, your life, friends and family. 🙂
    I’m grateful to get to know you better. 🙏

  13. eof737 says:

    Thank you for your heartwarming blog and for being you! 🙂

  14. […] Everyday Thanksgiving – November (everydaygurus.com) […]

  15. […] Everyday Thanksgiving – November (everydaygurus.com) […]

Leave a Reply

